Telangana BJP may announce 30 candidates

  Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Sat, Oct 20, 2018, 12:07 PM

The BJP is all set to declare its first list of 30 candidates on Saturday after senior leaders briefed party president Amit Shah at New Delhi. 

The TS unit of the party, which has said it will contest all 119 constituencies, filtered the applications for three days before preparing the list.The aspirants included doctors, engineers, social service volunteers and those attracted to the BJP after seeing Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s model of development, said BJP state president Dr K. Laxman.

Mr Shah is focusing on Dalits, and a majority of aspirants appear to be coming from Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, a leader said. The party has inducted cine actor P. Babu Mohan, former TRS MLA from Andhole, and is positioning him as the Dalit face.

Earlier, Dr Laxman constituted the party’s state election committee which he will head as chairman. Members include former minister Bandaru Dattatreya, MLC N. Ramchander Rao and former MLAs G. Kishan Reddy, N. Indrasena Reddy, G. Rama Krishna Reddy, Baddam Bal Reddy and E. Lakshminarayana. 

Also on the committee are national general secretary P. Muralidhar Rao, national executive special invitee Perala Sekhar Rao, BJP state general secretary (org) Manthri Srinivasulu, state general secretary Chinta Samba Murthy, zonal incharge S. Nagurao Namaji, Mahila Morcha state president Akula Vijaya, ex-MLA Chanda Linganna Dora.