KCR out to close rumours on Gajwel Assembly constituency

  Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Sat, Nov 03, 2018, 12:03 PM

Telangana caretaker CM K Chandrashekar Rao is all set to break the jinx on Gajwel Assembly constituency in the ensuing elections. The TRS chief is slated to blow the myth that no candidate can win twice from here. There is another sentiment attached to Gajwel constituency where the party which wins here rules the State and this has been happening for decades.

The Congress party had won from here twice, but its candidates were different. During 2004, senior Congress leader J Geeta Reddy was elected from Gajwel. Later in 2009, Geeta Reddy was shifted to Zaheerabad and T Narsa Reddy was given the ticket and he had won the election. Both times there was Congress government in the state. During 1994 G Vijaya Rama Rao was victorious from here and his party TDP was in power. In the year 1999, the TDP changed candidate and gave ticket to B Sanjeeva Rao, who was victorious and then too the TDP came to power.

This time the TRS leaders are confident that party chief is likely to break the jinx of no candidate not getting elected twice and maintain the tradition of party coming to power again. The TRS leaders said that the amount of development which has taken place in Gajwel during the last four years would impress even an average voter.

The TRS leader said that there has been massive development in Gajwel in the recent times. A model and state-of-the-art integrated market yard has come up in the village. There is a multipurpose auditorium with central a/c and with a capacity of 1,200 persons. A KG to PG facility with model school, Zilla Parishad High School, Intermediate and Degree colleges with hostel facilities coming in the premises.

 A decade-old dream of railway track is also being laid in the constituency and the works of 100-bed government hospital was also completed. The TRS leader further said that many works have been completed and the officials are waiting for inauguration by the chief minister, but the Assembly was dissolved, and the inauguration could not be taken up.

The opposition parties are hopeful that this time the Mahakutami will give tough fight to the TRS chief. However, the TRS leaders feel that the people would vote for development. Irrigation Minister T Harish Rao said that the party was slated to win in Gajwel.

“I met a woman, who said that her husband was voting for Congress candidate, but she had decided to vote for TRS because of the development works in Telangana,” said Harish Rao during a meeting in Telangana Bhavan on Friday.

During the 2014 elections, the TRS president defeated Vanteru Pratap Reddy of TDP with a margin of 19,366 seats. While Chandrashekar Rao secured 86,669 votes, the TDP candidate got 67,303 votes. The Congress candidate T Narsa Reddy was in third position with 34,085 votes.