All arrangements made for counting across the state: Rajat Kumar

  Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Sat, May 18, 2019, 12:10 PM

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has made all arrangements for counting of votes polled for 17 parliamentary segments in Telangana State on May 23. The polling as part of general elections across the country will conclude in seven phases on May 19. Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar told the media that they have set up 35 counting centres for 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in the State. The polls for these segments were held on April 11. He said the staff has been appointed for the counting in all the segments. 

The official said that as many as 3,000 counting tables are put in place for the purpose and each table will have four staffers in all the centres. While in Nizamabad, where 185 candidates are in fray, the EC has taken measures for smooth counting by appointing six members to each table. The CEO said VVPAT slips will be considered for counting of the votes polled if there was any disparity among EVMs and VVPATs. In that case it will take two more hours to complete the counting process, he added. Rajat Kumar said every measure has been taken to ensure smooth and fair process of counting of the votes. The EC is said to have taken extra measures giving no scope for any disturbance and adequate police personnel are being deployed to thwart any incident. The EC has imposed orders under Section 144 CrPC at all the counting centres and no victory celebrations at these places would be allowed.